News Single

Australian Schools Team Goes For Gold in Malaysia

Thursday, November 09, 2017

Australia are set to join over 200 bowlers and spectators at the 18th Asian Schools Tenpin Bowling Championships in Sarawak, Malaysia.

The six day tournament and the second Asian Schools tournament to be held in 2017 officially begins on Sunday, with Australia competing against Hong Kong, Malaysia, Philippines, Kuwait, Saudi Arabia, Singapore and Taiwan, for a total of eight gold medals across the competition.

With the tournament set to start with the girl’s singles on Monday morning at 11am (AEST), the Australian team will head into the Championships well prepared following training camps in Canberra and Singapore.

Having spent four days in July at the National Junior Development Camp at the Australian Institute of Sport in Canberra and two days of preparation at the world class Singapore Sports School, the group will be prepared for the pressure cooker conditions that Megalanes Sarawak will throw up at them next week.
With two boys’ teams and one girls’ team landing in Malaysia tomorrow, Australia will see 8 athletes make their debut in the green and gold and the likes of Emily Johnson, Kylie Bailey, Rhys Woszczeiko represent Australia for the second time with Chloe Jones earning her third cap.

When official practice begins on Sunday morning Australia will know where the competition will come from.  Having won 89 gold medals and the most of any nation in the tournaments history, host country Malaysia will be the favourites to win gold across the singles, doubles, teams and Masters events.

However, history will be with the Australian’s this week with the last Australian team competing in the tournament in Malaysia winning 2 silvers, 1 bronze and a gold in the girl’s teams event back in 2003.

To follow all the action during the tournament visit and keep an eye on TBA’s Facebook page for the latest updates.

18th Asian Schools Teams
Kylie Bailey
Callum Borck
Jackson Botham
Jay Davy
Emily Johnston
Chloe Jones
Daniel Perrella
Jamie Phelan
Joshua Morris
Lachlan Stephenson
Trent Webber
Rhys Woszczeiko
Coaches – Shane Bernhardt & Daniel Webb
Managers – James Taafe & Diedre Taafe.