News Single

Winners Announced 2017 National Rankings

Thursday, November 09, 2017

Tenpin Bowling Australia has announced the National Rankings Winners for 2017.

Beginning in early January and with the Sharp & AMF Champion of Champions on Sunday marking the final national ranked event of 2017, the national rankings point’s winners have been determined across six divisions.

Having amassed a staggering 350 points in the open division, including a memorable win at the Australian Open in March, 20-year-old Jarrod Langford finished on top of the open division following a late charge by fellow Queenslander, Brendan Meads who won the final open event – The Australian Masters in late October to finish on 317 points.

After finishing third in the open division and winning the SA Cup and Gold Coast Cup against the best male bowlers in the country, Victorian Bec Whiting streaked away in the ladies division to gain 418 points, which included wins at the Fishing World Ladies Classic, Queensland Ladies Classic and Interbowl Triple Crown.  Whiting will claim the title for the fifth consecutive year and her seventh overall win in the division.  

Currently competing against the best in the world at the World Series of Bowling in the US, Blayne Fletcher will finish 2017 as the number one youth bowler in Australia for the second consecutive year.  Following success at the Sydney Youth Cup in May, the Aspley bowler went into the weekends Champion of Champions event knowing a win would seal a top place in the 2017 youth rankings.

After winning the tournament by 113 pins, Fletcher amassed 380 rankings points to finish in the number one spot and 74 points ahead of Jayden Panella in second.

In the girl’s youth division, Janet Hunt got the year off to a great start finishing second at the National Youth Cup to then go on to win the Werribee Youth Cup.  Hunt then sealed the number one spot by winning the Sharp & AMF Champion of Champions on Sunday.  

After claiming the Queensland Junior Cup, Junior Sydney Cup and Australian Junior Masters, Kyle Annetts has taken out the junior boy’s rankings in 2017, by only 29 points from Bernie Grueso Jnr who won the Junior Melbourne Cup this year.

In the junior girl’s division, Wyncity bowler Bek Commane gained enough rankings points by winning the Junior Melbourne Cup, Australian Junior Masters and Queensland Junior Cup before departing for the US mid-year to win the junior rankings for a third consecutive year.  

In the senior division, Australian representative Shaun Cummings stayed consistent across the circuit in 2017 to finish at the top of the senior men’s rankings.  For Cummings, whose best finish was second at the Queensland Hammer Classic at Caboolture, it was a nervous finish to the year at the TBA Seniors Cup.  The 50 points he picked up at the tournament saw the New South Welshman pip the 2017 Seniors Australian Open and SA Seniors Classic winner Bill Johnson from the top spot by only 7 points.

In the senior women’s division, Julie Harrison claimed the title of the number one senior ladies bowler in the country for the third consecutive time after wins at the Seniors Australian Open and Campbelltown Seniors Classic.

In the grand senior division, Jim Bakirtzidis has won back-to-back grand senior men’s titles and TBA Hall of Famer Jeanette Baker finished first in the grand senior ladies division for the third consecutive year after finishing the best grand senior at five of the six tournaments in 2017.

To view the final 2017 rankings points across each division click here.  You can find more information on the rankings system here.

The 2017 winners:
Open – Jarrod Langford (QLD)
Women - Bec Whiting (VIC)
Senior Men – Shaun Cummings (NSW)
Senior Women – Julie Harrison (QLD)
Grand Senior Men - Jim Bakirtzidis (NSW)
Grand Senior Women – Jeanette Baker (VIC)
Youth Male – Blayne Fletcher (QLD)
Youth Female – Janet Hunt (NSW)
Junior Male - Kyle Annetts (QLD)
Junior Female - Rebekah Commane (VIC).