News Single

New Chairman Elected

Wednesday, May 31, 2017

Jamie Taafe has been elected as the new Chairman of Tenpin Bowling Australia (TBA) at the weekend’s AGM.

With Trevor Thiele calling time on his position as Chairman at the meeting, Taafe will move back into the Chairman role, a position in which he held from 2010 to 2015 after being elected to the TBA Board in 2008.

"It’s a great honour to be elected as the Chairman of TBA especially with some exciting times ahead for the sport," Taafe said following Saturday’s meeting. 
"At Saturday’s meeting, the Directors and I spoke very warmly about Trevor’s contribution to the sport.  He’s going to be sadly missed, but we’ve got a great legacy.  He’s left tenpin bowling in a strong position and a good platform for us to keep building on."

A current State team manager and director of VicTenpins and previous President and Treasurer of the State Association, Taafe brings vast experience to the sport as both a volunteer and administrator. 

Saturday’s meeting also marked Jess Ryan’s time on the TBA Board, after being elected to the Bowler Representative and Vice President positions in May 2015, and Michael Craig being elected as the new Vice President.

Bruce Morris was also re-elected as the independent bowling centre representative. 

The weekend’s meeting also saw State Associations meet with TBA to discuss strategic and operational topics.